Whats the Legal Age to Get a Tattoo in New Jersey
So why does the government care about the age at which a person gets a tattoo? New Jersey is also known as a popular destination for tattoo lovers. In some states, no one is allowed to get a face tattoo. Getting a tattoo at the age of 13 is not common or easy. Many states require a minor to be tattooed by a licensed physician, or at least in the presence of one. A 13-year-old can legally get a tattoo in 22 states (listed above) with the written consent of their parents. It is worth mentioning that the artist has the right to refuse a tattoo if he believes that the client is intoxicated or if he has requested an offensive design (for example, sexist or racist). It is also perfectly acceptable for the artist to refuse to tattoo certain body parts if they are not comfortable with it. Most stores do not tattoo on a minor`s hands, fingers, or neck. Most tattoo artists reject anyone under the age of 15, regardless of their consent. Getting a tattoo at the age of 13 is not common or easy. So, how old do you have to be to get a tattoo? For all states in the United States, the minimum age is 18. The legal age in the UK, Canada and Australia is also 18.
In some cases, you may be able to get one under the age of 18 with parental consent, but that depends on the state. Age restrictions and tattoo regulations are set for two main reasons: minors are not allowed to be tattooed, even with the consent of parents/guardians. Piercings require the “prior consent” of the parent/guardian. Minors can have their ears pierced without their parents` consent. Parents/guardians must be present during the procedure and give their written consent. However, getting a tattoo as a minor depends on the condition you are in. Any person under the age of 18 is considered a minor. In most parts of Australia and Tasmania, you must be 18 or older to get a tattoo.
The legal age for consent in New Jersey is 18 to get tattooed without parental consent. Before you start planning your tattoo, familiarize yourself with the regulations of the state where you want to get a tattoo. There are some risks associated with tattooing, especially in minors. If you`re not sure about tattoo laws in California, let us know and we`ll help you resolve any questions you may have. If you are 18 years of age or older, we only need an ID card, driver`s license or government-issued passport. The state of New Jersey allows tattooing or piercing of minors with the consent of a parent or guardian. Parents or guardians must accompany the minor to the tattoo studio. The minor must have photo identification. This can be identification issued by the school, a city, or a state. We also need the minor`s birth certificate.
The parent or legal guardian accompanying the minor must have a valid piece of identification linking it to the birth certificate. Many states require a minor to be tattooed by a licensed physician, or at least in the presence of one. Some states require consent forms to be notarized to ensure that guardians are the ones actually filling out the paperwork. In all jurisdictions, individual tattoo artists may also impose additional restrictions based on their own moral feelings, such as rejecting clients under a certain age, even with parental consent, even if it is legal, or restricting the type and/or place where they are willing to tattoo (e.g., reject any work around inappropriate body parts). They may also refuse to perform certain works of art, even if they simply find it inappropriate or offensive, or refuse to work on a client they suspect is intoxicated. Artists sometimes claim that their personal business restrictions are a matter of law, even if it`s not true, to avoid conflicts with customers. For example, in Georgia, it is illegal to get tattooed within an inch of your eyes. You also can`t get tattooed with offensive or hateful images, and most artists will refuse to do these types of designs.
The second reason for age restrictions is that tattooing is a medical procedure and therefore minimum standards must be met. An appointment is not always necessary. Some smaller tattoos with a session can easily be completed as a walk-in closet. If you`re planning a larger custom room that requires some drawing time, it`s always best to make an appointment. We ask customers to make an appointment in person at the store or by phone. All appointments require a $40 deposit to hold a time slot. This is a non-refundable security deposit that will be applied to the final cost of the tattoo. We cannot make an appointment by email, although we are happy to respond to your emails. WE DO NOT MAKE APPOINTMENTS BY E-MAIL. The UK prohibits people under the age of 18 from getting tattoos or tattoos.
This is for the safety of the minor and the tattoo artist. Unfortunately, not all tattoo artists or piercers respect the law. Some of them may be willing to tattoo your teen or give them a nose ring without your consent. Anyone who breaks the law is likely to face a fine and may lose their license. We ask that you do not bring your child with you. Children cannot be left unattended in the lobby while parents or guardians are served. Jersey City Tattoo Co. is a friendly and welcoming tattoo studio, but it`s an adult environment. The following states require the written consent of a parent or guardian to pierce or tattoo anyone under the age of 18: Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, South Dakota, Utah, and Vermont.
Thirty-eight states have laws that allow tattooing of minors with the informed consent of parents or in the presence of the parent. However, this does not mean that a baby can simply crawl and get tattooed. In many states, it is a crime to tattoo a minor, even with parental consent. Violations of Texas` tattoo and piercing law are a Class A offense, with each day of violation being considered a separate offense.  There is no federal law regulating tattooing in the United States. However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have legal laws that require a person who receives a tattoo to be at least 18 years old.